Cart 0

Established in 2014, we are a non-profit organization that seeks to better utilize the economic and job-creating potential of Lake Erie while also urging greater care of our valuable, natural asset.

As a collaboration of private and public sector leaders, we’re spearheading critical effort to broaden the way Northeast Ohio values, manages and capitalizes on its precious supply of freshwater.



Our Mission

Build upon Ohio and the Great Lakes’ assets and resources to create a clean water innovation ecosystem that harnesses technology, spurs the economy, enhances education and drives research.



Our Team


Bryan Stubbs

Executive Director & President

Stubbs is a recognized leader in building and implementing stronger, influential and more sustainable economies and communities. For more than a decade, he’s led sustainability based economic development projects, including The Oberlin Project, where, as the Managing Director, he created and implemented a pilot model to grow a local economy while reducing greenhouse gas emissions. (The project was a partnership between Oberlin College and the City of Oberlin).

He also launched Sustain Illinois, a program of the Illinois Dept. of Commerce, University of Illinois at Chicago and Chicago Community Ventures that took a triple bottom-line approach to growth for the Chicagoland region.

Stubbs earned a BA from the University of Kansas, an MBA from the University of Illinois at Chicago and an Executive MBA from the Presidio School of Sustainable Management.



Senior Scientist

Kelly Siman is a PhD Candidate at the University of Akron’s Integrated Bioscience’s Biomimicry Research and Innovation Center, where her research focuses on watershed and coastal resilience.  Her research involves creating a quantitative model for place-based social-ecological coastal resilience of the Ohio Lake Erie shoreline, developing a low-cost DIY spectrometer for easy and cost-efficient measurements, and applying social-ecological resilience theory with historical political ecology methods within the Maumee River Watershed to help guide future management decisions.  She has a mix of professional and educational experience. She holds a B.S. in Business Administration from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, a M.Sc. in Geography from the Virginia Tech College of Natural Resources and a soon-to-be Doctorate from the University of Akron.


Max Herzog

Project Manager

Max Herzog is an Impact Innovation Professional dedicated to engaging diverse stakeholders in the development of tools and strategies that drive community development and resilience at the regional level. Max is currently working on next-generation water technology and intelligent water systems with the Cleveland Water Alliance. In his three years with CWA, Max has spearheaded and contributed to regional innovation initiatives that activated over fifty entrepreneurial water solutions and one hundred stakeholder organizations from Windsor to Buffalo. As Program Manager, he coordinates the bi-national ecosystem of partners that drive the Water Alliance's cluster of programs and technologies.

At Oberlin College, where he earned Bachelor’s degrees in political science and environmental studies, Max participated in sustainable consulting projects with Foresight Design Initiative and social-impact research with The Oberlin Research Group. He also worked to educate youth on a variety of topics, including sustainable food systems and urban planning and design, with the Foresight Prep Seminars.


Savannah Tracy

Communications Manager

Savannah uses her communications skills to tell the story of the Cleveland Water Alliance and its members. She holds experience with email marketing, donor relations, and social media with a focus in nonprofit communications. Savannah holds a BA from Oberlin College in Sociology and Religion. She has a passion for using a multimedia approach to communicate the story of an organization.



Missy Hayes
Cluster & Development Strategies

Marlene Piatak

Elena Stache
Biomimicry Fellow


Our Board




Julius Ciaccia
NEORSD Board Trustee, Board Chair

Jeannette Grasselli Brown
Founding President

Robert Davis
Cleveland Public Utilities

David Goodman
Executive Committee

Dr. Bob Heath
Kent State University, Program Committee Chair

Joseph McKenna
Eaton Corp., Finance and Audit Chair

Blake Oatey
Oatey Company, Governance Committee Chair

Bryan Stubbs
Executive Director and President


Board Members


Mark Barker
Interlake Steamship

Dorothy Baunach

Darnell Brown
City of Cleveland

Todd Danielson
Avon Lake Regional Water

Paul DiCorleto
Kent State University

Kyle Dreyfuss-Wells
Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District

Kirsten Ellenbogen
Great Lakes Science Center

Matt Fisher
Lake Erie Foundation

Chuck Fowler
Covia f/k/a Fairmount Santrol

Will Friedman
Cleveland Port

Ebie Holst

Marty McGann
Greater Cleveland Partnership

Jeff Reutter
Ohio State University

Suzanne Rivera
Case Western Reserve University

Joe Roszak
Cleveland Metroparks

Jerzy Sawicki
Cleveland State University

Chris Winslow
Ohio Sea Grant Stone Lab


Program Committee


Julius Ciaccia
NEORSD Board Trustee

Matt Fisher
Lake Erie Foundation

Bob Heath
Kent State University, Program Committee Chair

Jerzy Sawicki
Cleveland State University

Aaron Klein
City of Sandusky, Department of Public Works

Scudder Mackey
Ohio Department of Natural Resources - Office of Coastal Management

Sandra Morgan
Kent State University

David Nash
McMahon DeGulis, LLP

Jeff Reutter
Ohio State University

Suzanne Rivera
Case Western Reserve University

Peter Whiting
Case Western Reserve University

Chris Winslow
Ohio Sea Grant Stone Lab

Our Partners